As I attempted to slog through a recent popular work of fiction by a major NY TImes Bestselling author I was severely disappointed.  Her first work back in 2001 had been inspired and interesting.  I wondered if this is the norm once a writer becomes published-is there pressure to crank out something every year rather than retain the quality which set your work apart to begin with?   Browsing the library shelves I picked up several authors I didn’t recognize and one of the them was Bethany Pierce.  Her writing doesn’t feel forced and is excellent, none of her characters are stale, and most of all it feels real and funny.  Amy Gallagher is a writer/teacher with rejection slips, a clueless family and most of all a sense of humor about where her life is going.  I loved this book.  Pierce’s website is gorgeous.  LA Carlson

