The one card I’ve had in my billfold the longest is my library card.  It doesn’t cost me interest and the inspiration I obtain from this place of eclectic words is priceless.  Libraries are continuing to evolve with the introduction of PCs, movie, music rentals, photocopying and paying guest authors to read.  But my favorite on going memory is when it was just about books and the only computer was the reference one used to find a book.  Did you know the first library dates back to the 1600s, with Greek and Latin Scrolls?  The oldest one is St. Catherine’s Monastery in Mount Sinai, Egypt which is open to monks and invited scholars only.  The Library of Paris (Bibliotheque de Paris) is the largest one currently open to the public.  Go to the library and expand your world.  Knowledge is power.  LA Carlson

